The Fox Party

It’s difficult to think like a Fox and be a hard-core partisan at the same time. When I talk about knowing “many things” I don’t mean it in a factual sense, but in an ideological one – the Fox has many different ways of looking at the world, and trys to find the right idea to fit the facts – noth the other way around. What I look for most in a political candidate is the ability to take new information and process it in a meaningful way.

My last long post about foreign policy may have left the reader with the impression that I am building up to a pro-Obama appeal for the 2012 election – that because I believe that foreign policy is important for a President and because Obama has been relatively succesful in the foreign policy realm, then you should vote for him. That is not my intended argument – you can make your own assesment of each candidate’s likelihood of protecting American interests abroad, and I argue that it should be a strong factor in your decision.

I consider myself an independent, but always feel a little self-conscious when saying so. Many people claim to be independent out of a desire for the appearance of impartiality-  in reality they are really “crypto-Republicans” or “crypto-Democrats.”

I’ve supported candidates of both parties, and have truly not made up my mind about who I am going to vote for in the 2012 election, though none of the GOP crop have impressed me very much so far. I don’t think either side has a monopoly on the truth – as a college student at an elite East-Coast university, I was typically the most conservative person in a political discussion. As a member of the US military, I am typically the most liberal.  I don’t know if that makes me independent, inconsistent or irrelevant.

I have a feeling that if this blog ever gets read by anyone other than my immediate friends, I will be accused of being partisan towards one side or another – I’m curious to find out which one it will be.  The Fox doesn’t have a party – that Fox listens to as many people and ideas as they can, and makes decisions knowing there’s probably a better than even chance that they are dead-wrong.

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

