Volunteer

A friend posted this article for MLK day, and I thought it was an interesting take on volunteerism. Going out to paint a school or volunteer at a soup kitchen is all well and good – but for adults with valuable skills that may have taken years to acquire, using them to benefit a worthwhile cause is a better use of your time than just showing up. If you’re a web developer, you can probably benefit the local soup kitchen a lot more by setting up or sprucing up their website – if you’re a database guy, help them get their records in order, etc.

Unfortunately, the only skills I seem to be able to come up for myself with are “pirate hunting” and “navigation”, neither of which are particularly in demand by your average non-profit, so I might have to stick to a ladel.

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in Toolkit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

