Open Mic, Insert Foot

So President Obama is getting some flak for an open-mic gaffe he made today:

In a private conversation about the planned U.S.-led NATO missile defense system in Europe, President Barack Obama asked outgoing Russian President Dmitry Medvedev for space on the issue.

“This is my last election,” Obama told Medvedev. “After my election I have more flexibility.”

My question is: Does anyone think that that isn’t true? That the election year makes it pretty much impossible for Obama to negotiate from a position of strength? He DOES have more flexibility if he wins. He wasn’t making any underhanded promises or going against the US’s interest – the flexibility he’s talking about pretty clearly refers to what he could get through the Senate post-reelection, not flexibility of the treaty he wants to get done.

I get that the GOP really wants to paint Obama as being somehow weak or against America’s interests, but I really just can’t get outraged about this – he will, in fact, have more flexibility to negotiate if he wins reelection.

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open Mic, Insert Foot

  1. Parker says:

    I have a problem with this. Not because I think it shows President Obama to be weak, or against America’s interest, but it seems to imply that he wants to get elected, and then take a position on the missile defense, or that the position he is taking on the missile defense before election is not the one he will take after election. It seems to imply a sort of bad faith with American voters, of not wanting the voters to vote without all the full information.

    I’m sure this kind of thing is common amongst all Presidents up for reelection, I don’t think it’s a Democrat/Republican thing, but I still have a problem with it.

Leave a Reply

