Rubio’s Too Smart for THAT

I predicted that coverage would shift to the VP slot, and there’s been a little bit of it here and there, but not as much as I thought there would be at this point in the race. That said, despite speculation, Marco Rubio is not going to be Romney’ VP nominee:

Popular freshman Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) again denied interest in his party’s vice presidential nomination Wednesday despite wide-spread speculation his political team was gearing up for a national campaign.

“I’m not going to be the vice presidential nominee, but I’m always flattered when people bring it up, I think they mean it as a compliment,” Rubio said on MSNBC.

I think he knows that being Romney’s VP is not the way to go – best case scenario he wins, and he’s locked into at least 4, possibly 8 years as the backup QB to a guy that may or may not be a good thing for the Republican party. Worst case, he loses and tainted with “Romney” for his (possible) 2016 run.

I think a Romney defeat in November could be a watershed moment for the Republican party – a loss here might mean another Tea Party style upheaval prior to 2016.

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in Politics, Seer of Seers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rubio’s Too Smart for THAT

  1. Pingback: VP Speculation | Think Like a Fox

  2. Pingback: Ohio, Virginia and Florida | Think Like a Fox

Leave a Reply

