Cyber Offense, Pt II

I blogged earlier this week about the US’s capabilities in cyber war from an offensive perspective. So this article headline- “U.S. Outgunned in Hacker War”– caught my eye. I get that we have serious issues in our cyber-defense capabilities, but this testimony highlights the strange nature of cyber-warfare – where offensive capabilities are almost entirely decoupled from defensive capabilities.

In conventional warfare, a weapon that’s good for attack can usually also be part of a solid strategy for defense – not so much in cyber war. I have no doubt that we have some of the best cyber-warriors around in our attack shops around the national security apparatus, but that does us very little good in defending our own networks.

 

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in National Security and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

