Cost-Benefit

I’ve written before about my view on global warming – that while there is almost certainly an man-made component, a rational discussion of the topic has to weigh both the costs and benefits of acting or not acting to try and prevent it. It’s not holy writ that we have to stop it at all costs, just as it is’t holy writ that we can’t ever restrain economic activity in favor of broader global concerns.

So this article “Stopping Climate Change Is Much Cheaper Than You Think” caught my eye – I don’t know nearly enough about either economics or climate change to know whether or not the figures quoted in the article are anywhere close to the truth, but the argument strikes me as the right argument to have – this plan costs this much, and it prevents this much climate change, which will have this much benefit.

If everyone focuses on that discussion, we’re a lot better off.

About thinklikeafox

I'm a Naval Officer living in Southern California. I hope to be attending law school in the next year or two, and I started writing this blog out of a desire to improve my writing and critical thinking skills after a couple years outside of academia.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cost-Benefit

  1. philosopher145 says:

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

